Your Cart: Empty ($0.00)
Currency: £ / $


Animal Collective Store

Image: Spirit Danse 600 Packshot

Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They've Vanished / Danse Manatee

FAT-SP07 | Released: 10/05/03

In 2003 Fat Cat Records released this 2xCD reissue of the first two Animal Collective records, Spirit They’re Gone, Spirit They’ve Vanished, and Danse Manatee.  Both records were remastered by Rusty Santos.  Spirit… is the first full length album from Animal Collective and features songs written by Avey Tare. Avey Tare appears on the album along with Panda Bear. It was first released under the name “Avey Tare and Panda Bear” and was re-released by Fat Cat in 2003.  All of the songs were written between 1997 and 1999 with the exception of “Penny Dreadfuls”, originally written in 1996 for Avey Tare’s first band Auto Mine (which also featured Geologist and Deakin).  Danse Manatee is the second full length album from Animal Collective and features Avey Tare, Panda Bear and Geologist. The album was recorded in various different places including the house they shared in Brooklyn, NY, WKCR-FM studios, and Avey’s parents’ house in Parkton, MD. It was recorded and mixed by the band.

Spirit… Originally released in 2000 by the groups own label Animal.

Danse Manatee Originally released in 2001 on Catsup Plate Records as CPR710

Disc 1:

  1. Spirit They’ve Vanished
  2. April and the Phantom
  3. (Untitled)
  4. Penny Dreadfuls
  5. Chocolate Girl
  6. Everyone Whistling
  7. La Rapet
  8. Bat You’ll Fly
  9. Someday I’ll Grow To Be As Tall As The Giant
  10. Alvin Row

Disc 2:

  1. A Manatee Dance
  2. Penguin Penguin
  3. Another White Singer (Little White Glove)
  4. Essplode
  5. Meet The Light Child
  6. Runnin’ the Round Ball
  7. Bad Crumbs
  8. The Living Toys
  9. Throwin’ the Round Ball
  10. Ahhh Gound Country
  11. Lablakely Dress
  12. In The Singing Box